Home » Administration


Parish Council

In accord with the St. Mary, Queen of Peace Syro-Malankara Catholic Eparchy of USA and Canada, the community has a vibrant and active Parish Council (“Council”). Elections are conducted annually in November during a General Body meeting to elect Council members for the following calendar year.  The Council is comprised of the Pastor, Secretary, Treasurer, Pastoral Council Representatives, Sunday School Principal, and the Presidents of the Parish units of the Malankara Catholic Youth Movement (MCYM), Malankara Catholic Association (MCA) and Mothers’ Forum and additional council members. The Council assists the Pastor in all the aspects of the temporal administration of the Parish. In all juridical affairs, the Pastor represents the Parish (CCEO c. 290 § 1).

The 2019 Parish Council is comprised of the following officer bearers:

    • Pastor – Rt. Rev. Msgr. Dr. Peter Kochery Cor-episcopo
    • Secretary – Dr. T. J. Thomas
    • Treasurer – Mr. Simon George
    • Eparchy Pastoral Council Representatives:
      • Mr. George K. James (2019 – 2021)
      • Mr. John P. Varghese (2019 – 2021)
      • Mr. Saji K. Varughese (2019 – 2021) / (Eparchy Public Relations Officer) / (Parish Event Management Coordinator)
      • Mr. Philip John (2019 – 2021) / (Prayer Meeting Coordinator)
      • Mr. Rens George (2019 – 2021)
    • Sunday School Principal / Malankara Catholic Children League (MCCL) Director – Mr. Sunny Thomas
    • Malankara Catholic Association (MCA) President – Mr. Ansel Vijayan
    • Mothers Forum President – Mrs. Tinsy Mary Varghese
    • Malankara Catholic Youth Movement (MCYM) President – Mr. David Samuel
  • Parish Council Members:
      • Mrs. Lisa David
      • Mr. Abraham Bhagavathiparampil
      • Mr. Dany Sam

  • Other Ministries
      • Internal Auditor – Mr. Thomas Karakattu
      • MCCL Animator – Ms. Anisha Varughese
      • MCYM Animator – Mr. Rens George
      • Art Director – Ms. Emin Cecil
      • Web Director – Mr. John P. Varghese

A detailed annual activity and financial reports are prepared by the Secretary and Treasurer, respectively.  The financial report is reviewed by the internal auditors initially and followed by the Parish Council. After obtaining approval from the Parish Council the reports are submitted to the General Body every January. After receiving approval from the General Body, the reports are signed by the Pastor, Secretary and Treasurer and then submitted to the Bishop for review and approval. All financial matters are subject to review by the Eparchy Finance Officer.